Makeup Brush Guide: Foundation

After some inspiration from other bloggers, I decided to start a short series on my blog about makeup brushes and how to find the best ones. For the next few Thursdays, I will guide you beauties on the best brushes and give my advice. The first one will be about foundation brushes so enjoy!

Makeup brushes are seriously everything! Without brushes, applying makeup doesn’t look flawless. But you also don’t have to spend an entire paycheck on good quality brushes.

For foundation, a lot of beauties use beauty blenders or other sponge applicators. I unfortunately end up looking cakey when I use a beauty blender for foundation.

If you’re the same as me, definitely check out pointed tip brushes or flat foundation brushes. Both of these types of brushes are really amazing for smoothing out product while making it look natural. 

I personally love the Sephora #58 brush because the printed tip really gets the product into those nooks and crannies and works hard to smooth my foundation out without looking streaky.

If you’re looking for some cheap foundation brushes, go check these ones out:

  • It Cosmetics Airbrush Blurring Foundation Brush #101 – $24 at Ulta
  • Real Techniques Expert Face Brush – $8.99 at Ulta
  • Ecotools Bamboo Foundation Brush – $6.99 at Ulta
  • Morphe B85 – $4.99 on Morphe’s website
  • Morphe E25 – $14.99 on Morphe’s website 

Thanks for reading, my loves 🙂 til next time 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. SheryL♥ says:

    Would you recommend using a brush to beginners like me?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would definitely say shop around for what you would feel most comfortable using. Beauty blenders can be a great way for beginners to learn about blending so I would say to you to shop around for what you think you’ll want. I hope this helped!

      Like

      1. SheryL♥ says:

        I have tried using them both but I seemed to fail. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hmmm I’m sorry 😕 what kind of foundation do you use

        Like

      3. SheryL♥ says:

        The liquid type from Tony Moly and the other one is a Japanese cream type. Could the problem be in the products or my way of applying them?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. When I first started wearing makeup, I used cream to powder formulas because I was intimidated by liquid formulas. I honestly think it depends on the person but in your case perhaps try different formulas to see what works best for your skin. Everyone is different!

        Like

      5. SheryL♥ says:

        Alright. Thanks a lot! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I hope this was helpful! I feel like I wasn’t super helpful but I hope I was 😊

        Like

      7. SheryL♥ says:

        Of course you were! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Your makeup was cakey with a damp beauty blender? I find that with a damp beauty blender my foundation blends more easily into my skin. The dampness helps with applying foundation to uneven or dry skin too. It’s interesting how different everyone’s skin is! Great post, I look forward to the rest of the series. Thanks for posting different brands of brushes at different prices! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting! Ya for some reason a damp beauty blender and foundation did not look good on me. And ya I really want to change up the types of posts I have since this is a daily blog. I’m glad you enjoyed it

      Liked by 1 person

  3. EmilyStyles says:

    This is amazing and very helpful! Thankyou 🙂 I have my brushes that work well for me, however I’m always on the look-out for new ones 🙂
    https://emstyles.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

