Brush Washing Tips

No one likes washing their brushes, am I right? I know I always dread gathering all my brushes to wash but sadly it has to be done.

For today’s post, I thought I’d give my beauties some tips on washing their brushes:

  1. Shoot for weekly washes. If you don’t do it weekly, bacteria builds up on your brushes and can cause you to break out. Not fun AT ALL! 
  2. Set a day of the week to wash. I know it helps me to pick one day a week that I will always wash my brushes on. Sure I’m dreading it when that day shows up. But at least I have a schedule.
  3. Don’t just use water. Just water or a makeup remover wipes will not do the trick. The best way to clean your brushes is with a brush shampoo. One of my favorites is the Japonesque Solid Brush Cleaner. It works hard to get all the makeup off and my brushes look brand new afterwards.
  4. Be patient. Yes, brush cleaners work really well. But don’t expect them to instantly get out all the dirt and makeup. Work the shampoo into the bristles and the makeup will come off shortly. Just won’t be instant results sadly!
  5. Lay flat to dry. After I wash my brushes, I lay them flat on a hand towel to dry them. If you let your brushes just sit anywhere, they won’t dry very well. Laying them flat separate from each other will help them reshape once dry.

What are your top tips for washing makeup brushes? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading, my loves 🙂 til next time

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Stiina Von Tortellini Meow says:

    I do a similar regime but I use baby shampoo for my soap. It works well as far as I can tell. I noticed that using a harsher cleaner affects my skin.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting! I’ve never tried that but I might have to now

      Like

Leave a comment