The Importance of Priming Your Face

image

One of the biggest beauty no nos is saying “I don’t need to prime my face before makeup.” Hold the phone…nuh uh! Everyone needs to prime their faces before makeup. No exceptions 🙊

Here’s what happens when you don’t prime your face: your skin dries out, you break out like crazy, and your makeup falls off your face. EEK! Talk about a beauty nightmare!

Honestly, you don’t need a fancy dancy primer that costs a lot of money and you don’t really need a complicated priming routine. Just a couple steps added before your normal makeup routine…no big deal right?

Before I even get to priming, I do two different facial cleanses in the shower (mostly to wake myself up but also to keep my skin beautiful). I always recommend starting the day off with a freshly cleaned face in order for the makeup to stick.

For my priming routine, I start with a moisturizer to make my skin extra soft. Any moisturizer you like will work; my current go to moisturizer is the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream (perfect for normal to dry skin).

After my face is moisturized, that’s when I grab my face primer. Again, it can be any primer as long as it does the job of locking down your makeup. My holy grail primer is the Benefit Cosmetics Porefessional pro balm. It minimizes my pores while also prepping me for a full face of makeup.

So if you don’t already have a priming routine, GET ONE! Your skin will love you for it! And if you do have one, keep on shining girl! 😘

Thanks for reading, my loves 🙂 til next time

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Molly says:

    Great post! Priming is definitely important when you’re wearing a full face of makeup!

    http://www.molly-alamode.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your feedback!

      Like

  2. Tigritsa says:

    The Porefessional is awesome! I find if I leave out primer OR moisturizer, my makeup is going to look like crap!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right? Seriously…primers are life savers 🤗

      Like

  3. Lin says:

    I honestly don’t notice a difference with my makeup whether or not I use a primer haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Primers let products glide on smoothy. Honestly it does work and helps minimize breakouts. I think everyone needs to do it!

      Like

Leave a comment